TWEED INDEED

 

dsc_0693dsc_0694dsc_0701dsc_0710dsc_0707

Edinburgh, Scotland — Edinburgh has always been one of the many places that I wanted to visit and I couldn’t be more than happy that I have finally visited this place and have ticked it off my list. The reason why I jutted it on my travel list is because of the way I felt after seeing it in the movie ‘Cloud Atlas’, not to mention that the storyline set in that place was a love story of a gay couple (which ended tragically, by the way).

I haven’t been to that many places in the UK, to be honest with you. I only went outside London a couple of times coz I love it so much in there. I mean, London is full of people with different shapes and sizes coming from different walks of life and there’s no other place in the world where I’ve felt more unique as a person than in London. I’ve only been to Bath and Edinburgh which I both absolutely loved! Though, I would’ve loved to travel some more.. I solely do believe that travelling is good for your soul. UK would’ve been perfect if the cold, grey, S.A.D-inducing weather wasn’t such a giveaway. To be fair, I quite naturally adapted with locals in terms of feeling that little shot of excitement whenever the sun appears (or whenever there’s sun in general)! The type of sunshine that’s hot enough for me to be able to ‘tan’ and get some ‘vitamin D’, iykwim, at Kensington Gardens or Hyde Park.

My impression of Edinburgh is that it looks like it’s a bigger version of Bath. The only thing that separates them, in my opinion, are their own gems: Bath’s Roman Baths and Edinburgh’s Scott Monument – mind you, I got obsessed with their uber delish deep fried Mars bars in Edinburgh!!! I can’t get enough of them!!! I only stayed in Edinburgh for a day and a half…same duration when I visited Stockholm (another love of mine!). The weather, however, is no different than in London except the wind is colder! I love the cold weather, don’t get me wrong. Being raised in a tropical country made me crave for colder climates so I can layer clothes and look chic but sometimes the cold can get a bit much.

Tweed is my absolute favourite…the rest can go scratch their backs!! I could wear tweed repeatedly without getting tired and love the way it elevates my mood even if I wear it with essential pieces (don’t wanna say basic..I’m allergic to basic lollz). I decided to wear this Carolina Herrera waistcoat and culottes on my last day in Edinburgh. Surprisingly, it wasn’t as cold as the day we arrived so I seized the day! But I still decided to wear my very old puffer jacket for some precautions and wear it à la Balenciaga…letting it expose a little of my shoulders.

Everyone knows that Chanel is the main purveyor of making the chicest tweed everythings and hopefully, one day, I’ll invest in a proper one. But for now, I’ll stick with this gilet that at least gives tweed the right amount justice. Also, it’s not like Carolina Herrera is bad after all.

Ciao for now! X

Tweed waistcoat and culottes by CH Carolina Herrera

Shot at Edinburgh, Scotland

Leave a Reply

